The Oscoda Township Fire Department (OTFD) receives the award for Citizen of the Year from the Oscoda-AuSable Chamber of Commerce (OACC). Pictured left to right, OACC Vice President Rick Michaels, OACC Secretary Kelly Hume, OTFD Chief Allan MacGregor, OACC President Megan Smith and OACC Board Members Ann Richards and Scott Moore.

OSCODA – The Oscoda-AuSable Chamber of Commerce (OACC) visited local businesses and service organizations last week to present the winners for the 2019 Outstanding Business and Service awards.

Seven organizations that are chamber members were awarded in categories including longevity, community service, customer service, excellence, innovation and hospitality. Additionally, Citizen of the Year was given among those as well. The OACC visited the Oscoda Township Fire Department (OTFD) to present them with the Citizen of the Year award.

Every year OACC gives out these awards as voted by members of the community. The three days of visits were filled with smiles and gratitude. The first visit was to snowy Camp Nissokone on Tuesday morning to honor Program Director Laini Wargo with the award for longevity.

Wargo gave OACC board members a lesson on the history of the camp and gave a small tour of the facilities. Camp Nissokone was established in 1914 and started as an all boys camp. In 1969, girls started attending the camp, according to Wargo.

Wednesday morning, OACC board members visited the Downtown Beautification Committee (DBC) at their monthly meeting behind the Aune Medical Center. The DBC was given the award for community service by the OACC. 

According to Member Mary Reitler, the committee was awarded the same award in 2008. The DBC decorates downtown for holidays such as Thanksgiving and Christmas. Additionally, they plant flowers in the flower boxes at different businesses.

On Wednesday afternoon, the OACC paid a visit to Edward Jones Financial Advisor Sheila A Malewska to present her with the customer service award. Malewska was overcome with gratitude and thanked the chamber profusely.

The Thursday visits kicked off bright and early with a stop at Roger’s Family Foods to congratulate Store Owner Ryan Clouse for an award in excellence. Clouse was very grateful and thanked the board.

Later in the morning board members paid a visit to Richard Manni and Nick Hannawa at Northern Roots Provisioning Center to present them for the award in innovation. They both expressed their gratitude for being chosen for the award and thanked the chamber.

Thursday afternoon, the board met up at Desi’s Taco Lounge to  present Owners Tim and Vicki Giannetti for the award in hospitality. Tim said the award is reflection of all his employees who have worked with the couple for a long or short time. He thanked the chamber profusely with joy and gratitude.

A final visit was made to the OTFD to honor the crew for Citizen of the Year. Board members gathered at the station to thank the crew for all they do for the community and presented them with a framed award, balloons and a meal.

A surprise Subway dinner provided by P&L Development was served to the firefighters in celebration of the award. OTFD Chief Allan MacGregor thanked the chamber and said that the department really appreciated the honor.

The seventh and final business awarded was Butterson Construction who received the 2019 Outstanding Business Award for community involvement. At press time, chamber members were unable to reach the business. A photo of the visit will be featured in a future edition of this newspaper.

Each business or service organization received a certificate and balloons from the chamber.