EAST LANSING – An Oscoda High School student is among 10 student-athletes from Class C and D member schools to receive scholarships through the Michigan High School Athletic Association (MHSAA)/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Award program. 

Farm Bureau Insurance, in its 32nd year of sponsoring the award, will give $1,000 college scholarships to 32 individuals who represent their member schools in at least one sport in which the Association sponsors a postseason tournament. The first 30 scholarships are awarded proportionately by school classification and the number of student-athletes involved in those classes; also, there are two at-large honorees who can come from any classification.

Students applying for the Scholar-Athlete Award must be carrying at least a 3.5 (on a 4.0 scale) grade-point average and have previously won a letter in a varsity sport in which the Michigan High School Athletic Association sponsors a postseason tournament. Other requirements for the applicants were to show active participation in other school and community activities and produce an essay on the importance of sportsmanship in educational athletics.

Each of the scholarship recipients will be honored during an online ceremony later this winter. Commemorative medallions will be given to the finalists in recognition of their accomplishments.

The Class C Scholar-Athlete Award honorees are Meagan Lasky, Bronson; Sophia Rayes, Oscoda; Elizabeth M. Williams, Ishpeming Westwood; Nicholas Errer, Bad Axe; Finn Feldeisen, Ann Arbor Greenhills; and David Jahnke, Saginaw Valley Lutheran.

Rayes ran three seasons of varsity cross country and will participate in her third season of varsity track and field this spring. Also wrestled on varsity as a freshman and sophomore and played junior varsity volleyball as a freshman. She earned all-league recognition in both cross country and track, and served as team captain of the latter. 

She is participating in fourth years of student council and Rotary Interact club and third as part of National Honor Society and robotics team. Rayes served as vice president and president of Interact and as a student representative to both the Oscoda Board of Education and local United Way board. She also served as vice president of student leadership group and coordinated Red Cross blood drive. 

Rayes will attend University of Michigan and study secondary English education.

Essay Quote: “Extending one’s hand regardless of an outcome can be difficult for anyone, especially when the person you competed against is your own teammate. However, her earnest demeanor revealed that she didn’t mean to upset me with her victory. I knew the hardest thing to say was the one I needed to the most. … Placing my hand on her back, we walked embracing each other and our outcomes. Even though I lost, I found myself glad to be able to share in my friend’s victory.”

Other Class D girls finalists for the Scholar-Athlete Award were Elise Besonen, Ewen-Trout Creek; Josephine Gusa, Ubly; Molly Myllyoja, Dollar Bay; Aubrie Sparks, Boyne Falls; Kiera Welden, Hillsdale Academy; and Mollie Zaleski, Kinde North Huron.

Other Class D boys finalists for the Scholar-Athlete Award were:Christian Gossage, Hillsdale Academy; Jack Kaplan, Dryden; Connor LeClaire, Dollar Bay; Quincy Thayer, Frankfort; Nicholas Treloar, Hillsdale Academy; and Jacob M. Werner, Bay City All Saints.

The Class B scholarship award recipients was announced Tuesday, Feb. 16, and the Class A honorees will be announced Feb. 23. Zachary Huitema, Tawas Area High School, is a finalist for the Class B boys.

Trending Food Videos